A UK cars and automobiles  forum. Auto Banter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » Auto Banter forum » UK Auto Newsgroups » uk.rec.cars.modifications (Car Modifications)
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

uk.rec.cars.modifications (Car Modifications) (uk.rec.cars.modifications)

Tags: ,

So what's the scam?



 
 
Trackback Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 7th 10, 03:16 PM posted to uk.rec.cars.modifications
Steve Firth
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,556
Default So what's the scam?

I've been looking for yet another car recently. One thing I have noticed
is that Autotrader now contains large numbers of adverts for cars at
ludicrous prices.

Such as this one:

http://www.autotrader.co.uk/classifi...1005351803189/

So umm what's the actual scam? Bang on the head up a dark alley after
arranging a meet to pay for the car?

I'm not daft enough to think that anyone would be selling a two year old
XC90 for that price, I'm just bemused by the scammer. Surely if the
price were just a couple of K less than book they would attract some
buyers? If they actually gave a contact number rather than insisting on
email contact only they would attract more punters?

As it is, it just screams WRONG! at anyone with two brain cells or more.
Or is the aim to attract the absolute dimmest members of society?
Ads
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 7th 10, 04:05 PM posted to uk.rec.cars.modifications
Homer
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 880
Default So what's the scam?

"Steve Firth" wrote in message
...
I've been looking for yet another car recently. One thing I have noticed
is that Autotrader now contains large numbers of adverts for cars at
ludicrous prices.

Such as this one:

http://www.autotrader.co.uk/classifi...1005351803189/

So umm what's the actual scam? Bang on the head up a dark alley after
arranging a meet to pay for the car?

I'm not daft enough to think that anyone would be selling a two year old
XC90 for that price, I'm just bemused by the scammer. Surely if the
price were just a couple of K less than book they would attract some
buyers? If they actually gave a contact number rather than insisting on
email contact only they would attract more punters?

As it is, it just screams WRONG! at anyone with two brain cells or more.
Or is the aim to attract the absolute dimmest members of society?



Contact the seller and he will probably claim he and the car are in another
country where RHD cars don't sell. Will request payment is sent by Western
Union and he will arrange for the car to be delivered to your door a his
cost.


  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 7th 10, 04:10 PM posted to uk.rec.cars.modifications
Dr Zoidberg
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 199
Default So what's the scam?


"Steve Firth" wrote in message
...
I've been looking for yet another car recently. One thing I have noticed
is that Autotrader now contains large numbers of adverts for cars at
ludicrous prices.

Such as this one:

http://www.autotrader.co.uk/classifi...1005351803189/


There's always the possibility that it's a typo with a missing digit.
More likely a scam though

So umm what's the actual scam? Bang on the head up a dark alley after
arranging a meet to pay for the car?


Nope , they don't want to actually meet anyone in person - they will just
want payment in advance and have the car shipped to you.
of course , you can use their trusted (and entirely fake) escrow site so
your money will be safe.....

Quite often this will be linked in with the sort of "earn thousands of
pounds a month working from home" jobs where they get the gullible people to
provide bank details for the scammers to launder the money through.

Either way , you won't get a car and yes , the truly dim and greedy are
targeted.

--
Alex

  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 7th 10, 04:27 PM posted to uk.rec.cars.modifications
IanT
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 37
Default So what's the scam?


"Steve Firth" wrote in message
...
I've been looking for yet another car recently. One thing I have noticed
is that Autotrader now contains large numbers of adverts for cars at
ludicrous prices.

Such as this one:

http://www.autotrader.co.uk/classifi...1005351803189/

So umm what's the actual scam? Bang on the head up a dark alley after
arranging a meet to pay for the car?

I'm not daft enough to think that anyone would be selling a two year old
XC90 for that price, I'm just bemused by the scammer. Surely if the
price were just a couple of K less than book they would attract some
buyers? If they actually gave a contact number rather than insisting on
email contact only they would attract more punters?

As it is, it just screams WRONG! at anyone with two brain cells or more.
Or is the aim to attract the absolute dimmest members of society?


Seeing as he will not take phonecalls, due to the number not being available
it will probably be a 419scam. He does have an email address, so why not
contact him and ask when you can get the AA to call and inspect the car?
Also ask him for the registration number so you can do the HPI Check to
make sure it isn't a rightoff and doesn't have existing finance. That is
all YOU
need to do in order to find it is a scam. Get back to us with the answers
he gives you. There wil be some problem over him being away on holiday
and a friend selling it for him, or maybe working away and he will need to
have the car delivered to you. Whichever way you try to see the car, it
will never be available as it is probably a picture pinched from elsewhere.
You will be faced by the hard pressure sell. If you try to phone his number
will be off, so that ties in with the thing about working/being away. First
step of a scam. Next will be an email asking you for your phone number.
You will get regular calls and told things like other buyers are interested,
so could you pay a deposit etc, or pay the full amount. They try to get as
much
as possible out of the victim. It will be a payment direct to a bank
account
or the scammer will get your full bank details and/or credit card details
and security code which he will use immediately! If it's a debit card then
your account can be emptied in minutes without any protection.
Have a look at 419scams on Google and you will find various sites saying
how they all work.


  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 7th 10, 06:57 PM posted to uk.rec.cars.modifications
Steve Firth
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,556
Default So what's the scam? *UPDATE*

IanT wrote:

Here you go ! As predicted by others in the group, here is the reply from
the seller calling himself LESLEY DYSON. All you had to do was ask him
some questions about HPI and if you could see the car.


Why would I want to communicate with a scammer? Have you finished
masturbating yourself into the ground yet?
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 7th 10, 07:47 PM posted to uk.rec.cars.modifications
Steve Firth
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4,556
Default So what's the scam? *UPDATE*

IanT wrote:

I also forgot that Zermatt is one of the few places in the world that NO
CARS are permitted, well not with engines anyway.


sighThere's a bloody great big car park at Täsch.

Your powers as a detective are ****ing useless.
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 7th 10, 08:06 PM posted to uk.rec.cars.modifications
Clive George
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,202
Default So what's the scam? *UPDATE*

On 07/02/2010 19:31, IanT wrote:

I also forgot that Zermatt is one of the few places in the world that NO
CARS
are permitted, well not with engines anyway. Anyone who goes skiing will
know from staying at the local hotels. I would love to know how he explains
that one.


Gives him an excuse for selling it.
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 12:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC3
Copyright ©2004-2010 Auto Banter, part of the NewsgroupBanter project.
The comments are property of their posters.
Society 2007 - Credit Consolidation - Consolidation Loans - Credit Consolidation - Gym Lockers