"Steve Firth" wrote in message
...
I've been looking for yet another car recently. One thing I have noticed
is that Autotrader now contains large numbers of adverts for cars at
ludicrous prices.
Such as this one:
http://www.autotrader.co.uk/classifi...1005351803189/
There's always the possibility that it's a typo with a missing digit.
More likely a scam though
So umm what's the actual scam? Bang on the head up a dark alley after
arranging a meet to pay for the car?
Nope , they don't want to actually meet anyone in person - they will just
want payment in advance and have the car shipped to you.
of course , you can use their trusted (and entirely fake) escrow site so
your money will be safe.....
Quite often this will be linked in with the sort of "earn thousands of
pounds a month working from home" jobs where they get the gullible people to
provide bank details for the scammers to launder the money through.
Either way , you won't get a car and yes , the truly dim and greedy are
targeted.
--
Alex